Vancouver Wave (Coastal Cup 2021): Roster and Results

The Coastal Cup league features a combination of historical regional teams, pioneering new sides and three university outfits – all with the intent on developing players and growing the game locally and nationally.

The Coastal Cup will showcase three regionally-based sides, in the Vancouver Island Crimson Tide, the Vancouver Wave and Vancouver East Rugby, along with the Pacific Pride Development Academy and university teams from UBC, University of Victoria and Trinity Western University. The series will see all seven sides play a round robin format, with the table-topping team taking home the Coastal Cup.

For TWU, UBC and the UVIC, the competition will also serve as a qualification tournament for the Canadian University Championship, with the top two university teams earning a spot in the national championship in the fall.

The fall campaign will mark a pilot season for the Coastal Cup, which brings a new competition to the West Coast that is aimed to bridge the gap between the club level and professional and national levels, while offering an opportunity for twice-weekly high-level training sessions with the regional teams. With the Pacific Pride and the three university sides involved, the league sets up well for focused development of high-performance athletes.

Vancouver Wave results:
October   2:   Vancouver Wave 34 / UBC  22
October 16:   Vancouver Wave 56 / TWU  3
October 23:   Vancouver Wave 16 / Vancouver East 9
October 30:   Vancouver Wave 25 / Crimson Tide 24
November 6: Vancouver Wave 37 / UVic 31

Giles Calder            Edinburgh, Scotland, Axemen RFC
Alex Carmel             Montréal, QC, Meraloma Rugby Club
Matt Chan                 Vancouver, BC, UBCOB Ravens
Ryan Chapman        Rockland, ON, Vancouver Rowing Club
Neil Courtney           North Vancouver, BC, Capilano RFC
Liam Doll                  North Vancouver, BC, Capilano RFC
Jalan Farris              Wainuiomata, NZ, Meraloma Rugby Club
Sean Ferguson        Bearspaw, AB, UBCOB Ravens
Darragh Foley         Tipperary, Ireland, Meraloma Rugby Club
Johnny Franklin      Bowen Island, BC, Capilano RFC
Jesse Hocking         Wellington, NZ, Scribes RFC
Matt Holt                   Vancouver, BC, UBCOB Ravens
Jake Ikeda                 Vancouver, BC, UBCOB Ravens
Pete Ingoldsby         Totnes, Devon, England, Capilano RFC
Robbie Jones            Vancouver, BC, UBCOB Ravens
Chris Knopf               Vancouver BC, Capilano RFC
Wes Lee                      Vancouver, BC, Meraloma Rugby Club
Phil Lelievre               Thames, NZ, Capilano RFC
Colby Mason              Clermont, Australia, UBCOB Ravens
Dave Matthews          Ottawa, ON, Meraloma Rugby Club
Adam McQueen         Canmore, AB, UBCOB Ravens
Vassili Miroslaw         Vancouver, BC, UBC
Mike Moloney             Lyndoch, Australia, Capilano RFC
Brian Moylett              Ballina, Ireland, UBCOB Ravens
Matt Nicol                    Ottawa, ON, Capilano RFC
Josh Powdrell             Cape Town, South Africa, Scribes RFC
Tom Ruffalls                North Vancouver, BC, Capilano RFC
Jack Scher                  Vancouver, BC, UBCOB Ravens
Spencer Scholnick     Vancouver, BC, Meraloma Rugby Club
Jake Schwartz             Aylmer, QC, Vancouver Rowing Club
Jeremy Simon             Bayonne, France, Capilano RFC
Mark Paddock             Maple Ridge, BC, Langley Rugby Club
Devon Singh-Parhar   Hamilton, NZ, Meraloma Rugby Club
Matias Suez                 Buenos Aires, Argentina, UBCOB Ravens
David Thompson        Vancouver, BC, UBCOB Ravens
Thomas Viljoen           Pretoria, South Africa, Meraloma Rugby Club
Isaac Winter                Palmerston North, NZ, Meraloma Rugby Club
Pat Zuk                        Grande Prairie, AB, Meraloma Rugby Club